January 5-7, 2021

9:00 am – 5:00 pm EST / 8:00 am – 5:00 pm CST

9:00 am- 4:30 pm EST / 8:00 am – 3:30 pm CST

9:00 am – 12:30 pm EST / 8:00 am – 11:30 pm EST

Webinar

(813) 348-1630 Council office

AGENDA

First Briefing Book Deadline: December 15, 2020

Final Briefing Book Deadline: December 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 5, 2021

Convene Day 1: January 5, 9:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM CST

15-minute breaks as Chair deems appropriate

Lunch: 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM EST/ 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM CST

Adjourn Day 1: 5:00 PM EST / 4:00 PM CST

I. Introductions and Adoption of Agenda – Dr. Powers

II. Approval of Verbatim Minutes and Meeting Summary: September 14-15, 2020 webinar meeting and October 30, 2020 joint webinar meeting with the South Atlantic SSC- Dr. Powers

III. Scope of Work – Mr. Rindone

IV. Selection of SSC Representative for the January 25-28, 2021 Gulf Council Virtual Meeting – Dr. Powers

V. Review of SEDAR 70: Gulf of Mexico Greater Amberjack Stock Assessment – Dr. Cummings

  • a. SEDAR 70 Stock Assessment Report
  • b. Presentation and Projections
  • c. Something’s Fishy – Ms. Muehlstein
  • d. Stock Assessment Executive Summary

VI. Discussion of Sea Grant/NMFS Greater Amberjack Research Program – Dr. Lorenzen

  • a. Presentation
  • b. SSC Discussion – Dr. Powers
Adjourn Day 1

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Convene Day 2: January 6, 9:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM CST

15-minute breaks as Chair deems appropriate

Lunch: 11:45 PM – 12:45 PM EST/ 10:45 AM – 11:45 PM CST

Adjourn Day 1: 4:30 PM EST / 3:30 PM CST

VII. Review of Red Grouper Recreational Landings Data – Dr. Sagarese

  • a. Presentation
  • b. Background: SEDAR 61 Stock Assessment Report
  • c. Background: Reef Fish Amendment 53

VIII. Review of Council Proposed Interim Analysis Schedule – Mr. Rindone

  • a. Document

IX. Review of Great Red Snapper Count

  • a. Presentation – Dr. Stunz
  • b. Background: Project Report
  • c. Discussion: SEFSC integration of GRSC data into interim analysis process – SEFSC Staff

X. Review: Testing assumptions about sex change and spatial management in the protogynous gag grouper, Mycteroperca microlepis – Dr. Lowerre-Barbieri

  • a. Manuscript
  • b. Presentation
  • SSC Discussion – Dr. Powers

Thursday, January 7, 2021

Convene Day 3: January 7, 9:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM CST

15-minute breaks as Chair deems appropriate

Adjourn Day 1: 12:30 PM EST / 11:30 AM CST

XI. Habitat Research Presentation – Dr. Murawski

  • a. Manuscript
  • b. Presentation
  • c. SSC Discussion – Dr. Powers

XII. Red Snapper Supply Chain and Markets – Dr. Asche

  • a. Presentation
  • b. SSC Discussion – Dr. Powers

XIII. Other Business – Dr. Powers

  • a. Public Comment
End of Meeting