Meeting Materials can be found here.

August 11, 2020 9:00 am – 4:00 pm EDT / 8:00 am – 3:00 pm CDT

UPDATE Meeting completed in one day:   August 12, 2020 9:00 am – 12:00 pm EDT / 8:00 am – 11:00 am CDT

Webinar

(813) 348-1630 Council office

Register for Webinar

AGENDA

August 11, 2020

Convene Day 1: August 11 9:00 AM EDT / 8:00 AM CDT

15-minute breaks as Chair deems appropriate

Lunch: 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM EDT

Adjourn Day 1: 4:00 PM EDT / 3:00 PM CDT

I. Introductions and Adoption of Agenda  – Dr. Powers

II. Approval of Verbatim Minutes and Meeting Summary: July 21-23, 2020 webinar meeting – Dr. Powers

III. Meeting Objectives – Mr. Rindone

IV. Workshop Summary, Overview of Gulf State Methods and Resulting Calibrations

  • a. Overview of Meeting Outcomes – Dr. Froeschke
  • b. Consultants Report from August 5, 2020 Calibration Workshop – Dr. Cody
  • c. Recommendations from NMFS – Dr. Cody
  • d. SSC Discussion and Recommendations – Dr. Powers
  • Background Materials
  • e. Alabama
    • Background Information: Alabama Snapper Check Data
  • f. Florida
    • Background Information: Florida MRIP Calibrations
  • g. Louisiana
    • Background Information: LA Creel/MRIP Red Snapper Private Mode Landings Calibration Procedure
  • h. Mississippi
    • Background Information: Weighted MS Gulf Red Snapper State Quotas Estimates
  • i. FES/CHTS Sample Size Information

V. Results of Individual State Calibrations and State Specific Annual Catch Limits

  • a. Presentation – Mr. Pulver –Revised-
  • b. Background Documentation
  • c. SSC Discussion and Recommendations – Dr. Powers

VI. Workshop Summary of Tasks for Gulf Transition Team – Dr. Hollensead/Dr. Cody

  • a. Revisiting and Updating Calibrations
  • b. Transparency in Data Delivery, Management, Accessibility, and QA & QC
  • c. Future Research
  • d. Examining Drivers for Differences between Survey Estimates
  • e. SSC Discussion and Recommendations – Dr. Powers
Adjourn Day 1

August 12, 2020

Convene Day 2: August 12, 9:00 AM EDT / 8:00 AM CDT

15-minute breaks as Chair deems appropriate

Adjourn Day 2: 12:00 PM EDT / 11:00 AM CDT

VII. Continuation of Day 1 Items

VIII. Background Materials:

  • a. Red Snapper IV Workshop Summary from September 2018
  • b. NOAA White Paper Recommended Use of the Current Gulf of Mexico Surveys of Marine Recreational Fishing in Stock Assessments
  • c. Certification Documentation for: Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi
  • d. State and Federal Red Snapper Seasons

IX. Public Comment – Dr. Powers

X. Other Business – Dr. Powers

End of Meeting