Scientific & Statistical Committee (SSC) Members are stock assessment or quantitative biologists/ecologists, economists, quantitative anthropologists/sociologists, and other scientists who are knowledgeable about the technical aspects of fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico.  Members are appointed for three year terms.  The next appointment period will be 2024.

Standing SSC 2021-2024

Lee Anderson, Ph.D.
Phone: (302) 737-3886
E-mail: lgafish@udel.edu

Roy Crabtree, Ph.D.
Phone: (727) 510-9740
E-mail: lcrabtree96@gmail.com

Paul Mickle, Ph.D.
Phone: (228) 234-2636
E-mail: pmickle@ngi.msstate.edu

Sean Powers, Ph.D.
Phone: (251) 460-7136
Email: spowers@disl.org

Luiz Barbieri, Ph.D., Vice Chair
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Phone: (727) 423-3244
E-mail: luiz.barbieri@myfwc.com

Benny Gallaway, Ph.D.
Phone: (979) 690-3434
E-mail: benny@lgltex.com

Trevor Moncrief
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
Phone: (229) 392-2258
E-mail: trevor.moncrief@dmr.ms.gov

Steven Scyphers, Ph.D.
Northeastern University
Phone: (334) 701-8864
E-mail: s.scyphers@northeastern.edu

Harry Blanchet
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Phone: (225) 765-2889
E-mail: hblanchet@wlf.la.gov

Douglas Gregory
Phone: (305) 304-6588
E-mail: dgregory3118@gmail.com

James Nance, Ph.D., Chair
Phone: (409) 370-5878
E-mail: drshrimp83@gmail.com

Jim Tolan, Ph.D.
Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
Phone: (361) 813-0232
E-mail: james.tolan@tpwd.texas.gov

David Chagaris, Ph.D.
Phone: (727) 710-0512
E-mail: dchagaris@ufl.edu

David Griffith, Ph.D.
Phone: (252) 341-5695
E-mail: griffithd@ecu.edu

William Patterson, Ph.D.
University of Florida
Phone: (850) 748-2726
E-mail: will.patterson@ufl.edu

Richard Woodward, Ph.D.
Phone: (979) 202-1925
E-mail: r-woodward@tamu.edu

Special Coral SSC 2021-2024

Sandra Brooke, PhD
Phone:  (850) 524-8453
Email:  sbrooke@fsu.edu

Paul Sammarco, PhD
Phone:  (985) 232-6575
Email:  PaulWSammarco@gmail.com

Andrew Shantz
Phone:  (850) 645-3488
Email:  ashantz@fsu.edu

Special Ecosystem SSC 2021-2024

Mandy Karnauskas, Ph.D.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Phone: (305) 361-4592
E-mail: Mandy.Karnauskas@noaa.gov

Joshua Kilborn, Ph.D.
Phone: (904) 704-6321
E-mail: jpk@usf.edu

Steven Saul, Ph.D.
Phone: (786) 423-7625
E-mail: steven.sauls@asu.edu

Special Red Drum SSC 2021-2024

Ed Camp, Ph.D.
Phone: (352) 273-3652
E-mail: edvcamp@ufl.edu

Jennifer Green
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
Phone: (228) 218-2472
E-mail: jennifer.green@dmr.ms.gov

Susan Lowerre-Barbieri, Ph.D.
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Phone: (727) 896-8626
E-mail: susan.barbieri@myfwc.com

Special Reef Fish SSC 2021-2024

Jason Adriance
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Phone: (504) 284-2032
E-mail: jadriance@wlf.la.gov

Micheal Allen, Ph.D.
Phone: (352) 258-3454
E-mail: msal@ufl.edu

John Mareska
Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
AL Marine Resource
Phone: (251) 861-2882
E-mail: john.mareska@dcnr.alabama.gov

Special Shrimp SSC 2021-2024

William (Peyton) Cagle
Phone:  (337) 491-2575
Email:  peyton.cagle@la.gov

Jason Saucier
Phone:  (228) 523-4038
Email:  jason.saucier@dmr.ms.gov

Donald Behringer
Phone:  (352) 273-3634
Email:  behringer@ufl.edu

Special Socioeconomic SSC 2021-2024

Luke Fairbanks, Ph.D.
Phone: (228) 818-8827
E-mail: luke.fairbanks@usm.edu

Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, Ph.D.
Phone: (808) 354-2660
E-mail: gracemccaskeyc15@ecu.edu

Jack Isaacs, Ph.D.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Phone: (225) 765-2605
E-mail: jisaacs@wlf.la.gov

Special Mackerel SSC - to be populated at a later time

Special Spiny Lobster SSC - to be populated at a later time