The U.S. Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 30 members to the eight regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA Fisheries to manage ocean fish stocks. Twenty-nine of the new and reappointed council members will serve three-year terms from August 11, 2018 through August 10, 2021. One appointed member is filling an at-large seat recently vacated on the Western Pacific Fishery Management Council and this member will serve through August 10, 2020.
The Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act established the councils as stewards of the Nation’s fisheries resources through the preparation of fishery management plans for their regions. NOAA Fisheries works closely with the councils through this process and then reviews, approves and implements the plans. Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental organizations and academia. They are vital to fulfilling the act’s requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks and manage them sustainably.
Each year, the Secretary of Commerce appoints approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. The Secretary selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments.  Council members are appointed to both obligatory (state-specific) and at-large (regional) seats. Council members serve a three-year term and may be reappointed to serve three consecutive terms.
Asterisks preceding a member’s name indicate a reappointment.
Gulf Council
The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. 2018 appointees will fill obligatory seats for Alabama, Florida, and Louisiana and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

Susan E. Boggs (Alabama)
*Juan M. Sanchez (Florida)
Jonathan J. Dugas (Louisiana)

At-large seats:

*Edward W. Swindell, Jr. (Louisiana)
*Dale A. Diaz (Mississippi)